“Sorry, I am Late”

 

I’ve said it so many times, and yet with the capitals in place, it’s a first. If you are reading this, kudos for making it alive so far. But here’s the spoiler – the apocalypse is here, I am dead and this is my airdropped eulogy. The people around me were too busy dying and asking them to write an obituary would have been too selfish. I tried to ask a few friends and family members, but when the world is coming to an end, they found it almost ironic to write death notes. But we all seek closure and here comes mine – 

I lived a good life. I counted my blessings every day for the people that I got to call my own, my absolute essentials. When you are born in a family as large as mine, you cannot not be a people person. Being the youngest in the family brought with it many escapades. While the many cousins kept me bereft of all the teenage gossip, I was also lucky to fall asleep to many different lullabies and bedtime stories. Growing up with bhai, my partner-in-crime, I unknowingly picked up some of the most valuable lessons on teamwork while pulling off our (very many) silly shenanigans. 

Parents named me Rumani which literally translates to “being romantic”.  More cinema halls have seen me cry than any individual, and I only have my nomenclature to blame for it. While we are on the topic, I would like to confirm that a parallel universe does exist and Karan Johar and I have in fact become best friends.

I aspired to embrace the joie di vivre and live as a happy soul. I believe I did. And while there is not much of the world left anymore, I will miss my worldly guilty pleasures. They were not too many – only good food, Hindi classics and the nine Garba nights annually. Going forward, whenever you hear Thunderclaps, relax. It’s probably just me grooving to some gujju folk music.

Love binds everything together in perfect harmony. And my life was an amalgamation of many such loves. The supreme of it being my love for the one who taught me what it really meant, my love for Rio. It was because of him that I learned that to love is to give unconditionally. He might have lived with us for a short while, but he lived within us till our last breath. But a rendezvous has certainly been long overdue. I shall see that tail-wagging beast any minute now!

Dear Survivor of the meltdown, I need you to do me a favour. I was fifteen when I started to journal. As time passed by, I penned my story – more so for my daughter than for me. I continued to write till I hit what seemed like the doomsday. Please find a way to make them reach her. Look for her, I am positive that she’ll be around for Angels do not die.

I passed by the planet for a little while, but even within that, my little infinity found a place. I rest in peace knowing that I have been loved by the finest. And for all those who helped me find my verse, thank you. Sadly, there is no planet B. But if there was, I’d come back for you. A thousand times over.

– –

A self-obit I wrote as a part of one of my courses at Vedica 🙂

Leave a comment